Wyoming Been Commission to Meet November 9

November 07, 2023

The Wyoming Bean Commission (WBC) is scheduled to meet via Zoom teleconference on November 9, 2023.

On Thursday, November 9, 2023, the Commission will begin their meeting at 3:00 p.m. and will hear a budget update, discuss assessment rate changes, hear a Seed Bean Insurance update, discuss RMBDA, Colorado Dry Bean Summit and future sponsorship, and USDBC/CAP Funding. Along with this, they will elect a Chair and Vice-chair and cover any other business as needed. The public is welcome to attend the meeting and there will be an opportunity for the public during the meeting.  

The members of the Wyoming Bean Commission are Beau Fulton (grower) of Park County, Jeffery Chapman (handler), Jerrod Lind (grower) of Platte County, Pascual Aguilar (grower) of Big Horn County, Wayne Hort (grower) of Goshen County, Cortney Allen (handler), and Dale Heggem (ex-officio member from the Wyoming Department of Agriculture).

The Bean Commission is comprised of six members initially appointed by the Governor. Four members are growers, and two members are handlers with facilities located in Wyoming. One member must reside in Laramie, Platte or Goshen County, Wyoming. The Bean Commission is funded through assessments collected on dry bean sales and is housed within the Wyoming Department of Agriculture. The commission will meet no less than two times each year and will keep a permanent record of its proceedings and report its activities to the Governor and Joint Agriculture, State and Public Lands, and Water Resources interim committee. Along with this, the commission may conduct or contract scientific research, disseminate information on dry edible beans based on research, study state and federal legislation with respect to matters concerning the dry edible bean industry, appoint advisory groups, make grants to research agencies for financing special or emergency studies, and a variety of other activates.

For an agenda and more information on the Wyoming Bean Council, visit https://agriculture.wy.gov/wyoming-bean-commission or contact the Wyoming Department of Agriculture at 307-777-7321.

In accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, special assistance or alternate formats will be made available for individuals with disabilities upon request in advance of the meeting.

Return to list.