Wyoming Bean Commission to Meet on February 1-2, 2024

January 29, 2024

The Wyoming Bean Commission (WBC) is scheduled to host their regular meeting in Powell, WY and via Zoom teleconference on February 1-2, 2024.

The Wyoming Bean Commission will meet in Powell at the Park County Fairgrounds each day. On Thursday, February 1, 2024, the Commission will begin their regular meeting at 1:00 p.m. and will hear a budget update, discuss assessment rate changes, hear a bean seed insurance update, discuss funding dry bean breading programs through the Crop Research Foundation of Wyoming, discuss BeanCon, the RMBDA meeting, and the Nebraska Dry Bean Growers Association annual meeting. On Friday, February 2, 2024, the meeting is scheduled to start at 8:00 am and the Commission will hear 2023 research presentations, determine total funding for 2023 research projects and any other business as needed. The public is welcome to attend the meeting and there will be an opportunity for the public during the meeting.  

The members of the Wyoming Bean Commission are Beau Fulton (grower) of Park County, Jeffery Chapman (handler), Jerrod Lind (grower) of Platte County, Pascual Aguilar (grower) of Big Horn County, Wayne Hort (grower) of Goshen County, Cortney Allen (handler), and Dale Heggem (ex-officio member from the Wyoming Department of Agriculture).

The Bean Commission is comprised of six members initially appointed by the Governor. Four members are growers, and two members are handlers with facilities located in Wyoming. One member must reside in Laramie, Platte or Goshen County, Wyoming. The Bean Commission is funded through assessments collected on dry bean sales and is housed within the Wyoming Department of Agriculture. The commission will meet no less than two times each year and will keep a permanent record of its proceedings and report its activities to the Governor and Joint Agriculture, State and Public Lands, and Water Resources interim committee. Along with this, the commission may conduct or contract scientific research, disseminate information on dry edible beans based on research, study state and federal legislation with respect to matters concerning the dry edible bean industry, appoint advisory groups, make grants to research agencies for financing special or emergency studies, and a variety of other activates.

The Park County Fairgrounds are located in Powell, WY at 655 E 5th St, Powell, WY 82435. For an agenda with Zoom information and more information on the Wyoming Bean Council, visit https://agriculture.wy.gov/wyoming-bean-commission or contact the Wyoming Department of Agriculture at 307-777-7321.

In accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, special assistance or alternate formats will be made available for individuals with disabilities upon request in advance of the meeting.

Return to list.